Getting My Life Together

Hey everyone!

My name is Misha.

I am a first year student at UOW and I’m doing a Bachelor of Communications and Media Studies, majoring in Digital Media. Although I’m not quite sure if Digital Media is for me, I’m willing to stick it out.

I chose to study BCM because I’m a pretty avid media fan, as I’m sure most of you are, and I’ve always been interesting in studying the various media platforms and discovering how the world is continuing to evolve with these mediums. My interests in film and social media usually cause me to sit on the couch for hours on end, waste away the precious, sun-filled hours of the day and wonder “What am I doing with my life?”

So you could imagine that when I found this degree that I was pretty ecstatic; I could take my otherwise futile interests and turn them into something productive, something that I could make a living out of, which is all anyone ever wants in life, right?

However, I still took a Gap Year. After being completely burned-out from the HSC I took a necessary break in order for my poor brain to recover.

So after working as a swimming teacher for a majority of my year off, watching from the sidelines as my friends spent numerous months travelling around Europe and experiencing the world while I hadn’t earned nearly enough money to join them; I realised I that I still have an incredible amount of self-discovery to do.

And that’s why I’m here.

Now as a 19-year-old, fairly inexperienced uni student living out of home for the first time, I’m on a quest to regain the creativity I lost during my early high school years and am excited, albeit nervous, to be able to think for myself again.

I’m hoping that with a BCM degree, I’ll not only be able to obtain a well-paying, innovative job in the future, but I’ll also gain some skills, discover things about myself that I never thought possible and hopefully make a friend or two along the way.

Leave a Reply

